The National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization founded in 1904. We support and work with our members, the state boards of pharmacy, to protect the public health. NABP is governed by its Executive Committee, which consists of four officers and eight members. Our Constitution and Bylaws direct our operations and activities allowing us to follow our guiding principles.

NABP was initially established to assist the state boards of pharmacy in creating uniform education and licensure standards. Our members consist of the 50 United States state boards of pharmacy, as well as the boards in District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, 10 Canadian provinces, and The Bahamas.

Today, we help support patient and prescription drug safety, through examinations that assess pharmacist competency, pharmacist licensure transfer and verification services, and various pharmacy accreditation programs. We recently established a subsidiary company, NABP Solutions, to provide consulting services to pharmacies and the drug supply chain that focus on regulatory compliance.

Our membership and staff combine diverse skills and backgrounds, which helps us create innovative programs that meet the public health protection needs of today – with an eye on the future.


NABP is the independent, international, and impartial association that assists its member boards and jurisdictions for the purpose of protecting the public health.


Innovating and collaborating today for a safer public health tomorrow.