NABP Leadership Awards

The NABP Leadership Awards highlight individuals and organizations at the forefront of pharmacy regulation, showing us all what it means to be a leader in public health protection. NABP is seeking nominations for its 2023 awards, which will be presented at its 119th Annual Meeting in May. To nominate an individual or board that you feel is outstanding, complete and submit the form. Nominations must be received by December 31, 2022. Descriptions of each award and nomination criteria can be found below the form.

2022 NABP Awards Nomination Form
Curriculum vitae or resumé of nominee, if possible
Maximum upload size: 2.1MB

Award Criteria

Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award

This award is the highest honor bestowed by the Association. To be considered, nominees must meet the following criteria: 

Any individual who meets the criteria may be nominated for the Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award, regardless of their member affiliation with NABP.

Originally known as the Distinguished Service Award, it was renamed by NABP to serve as a memorial to the 1990-1991 NABP President Lester E. Hosto, whose motivating presence in the practice of pharmacy was recognized by practitioners of his state, pharmacy leaders across the nation, and former United States President Bill Clinton.

Carmen A. Catizone Honorary President Award

To be considered for the distinction of honorary president, nominees must meet the following criteria:

To submit a nomination for honorary president, you must be from an active or associate member board.

The award was renamed in 2020 to honor former NABP Executive Director/Secretary Carmen A. Catizone, who served the Association for 35 years. The award honors Catizone’s unwavering leadership, commitment, and dedication to NABP and its mission of protecting the public health.

Fred T. Mahaffey Award

This award is reserved for member boards of pharmacy. To be considered, the board of pharmacy must meet the following criteria:

This award was named after the late NABP Executive Director Emeritus Fred T. Mahaffey, who held the executive director position from 1962 to 1987. His leadership and contributions to NABP, state boards of pharmacy, and the protection of the public health were significant and established NABP as one of the leading pharmacy organizations. 

John F. Atkinson Service Award

To be considered, nominees must meet the following criteria:

This award was named in honor of the late John F. Atkinson, former NABP general counsel, who served the Association for more than 40 years.