Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

Jeanne D. Waggener, RPh, DPh, immediate past president of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®), assumed the office of chairperson of the Association’s 2018-2019 Executive Committee during the Final Business Session of the NABP 114th Annual Meeting, held May 5-8, 2018, in Denver, CO. Ms Waggener served one-year terms as the Association’s president, president-elect, and treasurer, and one three-year term as an Executive Committee member representing District 6.

During her presidency, Ms Waggener’s initiative was to educate about the role of the state boards of pharmacy. To support this, a consumer campaign has been developed to encourage patients to talk to pharmacists about opioids and safe medication use, and a social media campaign has been created to reach out to pharmacists, pharmacy students, and other stakeholders to promote the educational efforts of state boards of pharmacy. Print and electronic publications, presentations, and videos are also a part of the ongoing plan to promote board of pharmacy efforts. In addition, Ms Waggener carried on the work of past NABP presidents to further improve the Association’s programs and services, and their benefits to member boards.

Under Ms Waggener’s leadership, the Association continued efforts to fight prescription drug abuse and to educate patients on safely purchasing medications online. Ms Waggener represented NABP during the National Conference of Pharmaceutical Organizations, and along with 10 other pharmacy associations released a statement in support of the President’s Commission on Combating Drug Addiction and the Opioid Crisis and requested the opportunity for dialogue with the White House. For her service, NABP bestowed its President’s Award upon Ms Waggener during the Annual Awards Dinner at the 114th Annual Meeting.

Ms Waggener is a member of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy and has served on the Board since 2006. Currently, Ms Waggener is a pharmacy clinical services manager for Wal-Mart Health and Wellness. Ms Waggener began her career as a staff pharmacist in a community pharmacy, and she has worked in the community pharmacy environment, both as a pharmacy manager and assistant manager, for over 40 years.

An active member of NABP, Ms Waggener has participated in several task forces and committees, including serving as Executive Committee liaison for the Task Force on Sponsorship of NABP District and Annual Meetings and the Task Force on Prescription Drug Abuse. She also served as chair of the Task Force on Internet Pharmacy Practice and was a member of the Task Force to Review and Recommend Revisions to the Controlled Substances Act. In addition, Ms Waggener has served on the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws. Further, Ms Waggener represented NABP at an Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education meeting on advancing quality pharmacy education. She also served as a panelist for the Tri-Regulator Symposiums, held in 2012 and 2015, to discuss the challenges facing state pharmacy, nursing, and medical boards.

An active leader in pharmacy education, Ms Waggener has served as a preceptor for over 10 years. Ms Waggener was honored with the 2017 William J. Sheffield Outstanding Alumnus Award from the University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy. The award is named to honor former Associate Dean William J. Sheffield and is the highest honor paid by the college.

Ms Waggener earned her bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Texas at Austin and received an honorary doctor of pharmacy license from the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy.

NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its state member boards and jurisdictions for the purpose of protecting the public health.