Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

NABP is sad to announce that Sister Margaret Wright, RSM, PhD, a Sister of Mercy for 63 years and a former member of the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, passed away on Sunday, October 16, 2016. Her contributions to NABP, state boards of pharmacy, and the protection of public health were significant.

Sister Margaret showed ongoing commitment to NABP by serving on numerous task forces and committees, including serving on the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination (FPGEE) Review Committee for over 10 years. She also served on the Advisory Committee on Examinations and the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) Review Committee. Sister Margaret also consulted as a subject matter expert by reviewing the annual updates to the Survey of Pharmacy Law from 2010 to 2014.

In recognition of her dedication to the Association’s mission and goals, NABP named Sister Margaret as its 1994-1995 honorary president. She was also awarded the Association’s Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award in 1987. In 1980, Sister Margaret was the first woman and first from a hospital setting to be named the Pharmacist of the Year by the Illinois Pharmacists Association. The American Pharmacists Association awarded the Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award to Sister Margaret in 2004 for her contributions to the pharmacy profession, including mentoring new pharmacists.

Sister Margaret was the president and chief executive officer of Palos Community Hospital for 35 years. She earned her bachelor of pharmacy degree from Creighton University in 1962, master of science degree in pharmacy administration from the University of Colorado in 1971, and PhD in pharmacy from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1998.