Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

Each year the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®) Executive Committee selects an individual to serve as its honorary president for the coming year. NABP is pleased to announce that Gay Dodson, RPh, has been awarded this honor for 2014 and was recognized during the Annual Awards Dinner at the NABP 110th Annual Meeting, held May 17-20, 2014, in Phoenix, AZ. In recognition of her commitment to the Association’s mission and goals, NABP named Ms Dodson as its honorary president for her commitment to NABP and the boards of pharmacy, for her strong commitment to protecting public health, and her active commitment to the Association’s initiatives.

Ms Dodson began her career in 1969 as a staff pharmacist at Garland Pharmacy in Garland, TX. Two years later, she became the pharmacist-in-charge at a Revco pharmacy in Lancaster, TX. Ms Dodson joined the Texas State Board of Pharmacy as a compliance officer in 1982, and has been the executive director/secretary of the Board for the last 17 years. Prior to that, Ms Dodson held various positions with the Board, including senior compliance officer and director of compliance.

A dedicated member of NABP, Ms Dodson served as a member of the Committee of Law Enforcement/Legislation in 2011, and again in 2012, and as chair in 2004. She also served as chair of multiple task forces, including the Miscellaneous Topics Subgroup of the Task Force to Review and Recommend Revisions to the Controlled Substances Act, the Task Force on Prescription Monitoring Program Standards, and the Task Force on Standardizing Student Pharmacist Experiential Requirements. She has also served as an item reviewer for the Association’s Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination®, and as the coordinator for two District 6 meetings held in Texas. For her service to the Association, Ms Dodson received the NABP Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award in 2007.

Ms Dodson is also an active member of several other pharmacy associations at the national, state, and local level, including the American Pharmacists Association and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. She is the current chair of the Texas Health Professions Council, and has served on multiple committees for the Texas Pharmacy Association. Among her many awards, Ms Dodson has received the Outstanding Women in Texas Government award from the State Agency Council to the Governor’s Commission for Women, and the Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

She is a life-member of the University of Texas College of Pharmacy Alumni Association, and was appointed to the Texas State Employees Charitable Campaign Policy Committee on three separate occasions. She has been a volunteer with the Meals on Wheels and More program since 2000.

Ms Dodson earned her bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Texas in 1969.

 NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its member boards and jurisdictions for the purpose of protecting the public health.