Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

Each year, the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®) Executive Committee selects an individual to serve as its honorary president for the coming year. NABP is pleased to announce that Ray Joubert, BSP, RPEBC, has been awarded this honor for 2018 and was recognized during the Annual Awards Dinner at the NABP 114th Annual Meeting, held May 5-8, 2018, in Denver, CO. In recognition of his dedication to the Association’s mission and goals, NABP named Mr Joubert as its honorary president for his commitment to the boards of pharmacy, to protecting public health, and to his significant involvement with NABP.

Mr Joubert has been the registrar of the Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals (SCPP) since 1985, and is currently serving as associate registrar of SCPP. He has shown ongoing commitment to NABP by participating at District 5 meetings, where he currently serves as chairperson, and by speaking as a panelist at the NABP Interactive Executive Officer Forum sessions in 2014, 2016, and 2017. Contributing his expertise to the practice of pharmacy, Mr Joubert is a lecturer at the University of Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy and Nutrition, where he teaches pharmacy law and ethics courses.

Prior to his current roles, Mr Joubert served as assistant registrar and inspector for SCPP (formerly known as Saskatchewan Pharmaceutical Association). In 2017, he helped implement the Community Pharmacy Professionals Advancing Safety in Saskatchewan program, which includes safety-related tools for anonymous reporting of medication incidents. In addition, he has served on numerous SCPP committees, including the Audit Committee and Discipline Committee, and was appointed chairman of the 2015-2016 Pharmacy Coalition on Primary Care Committee. Mr Joubert was also appointed to serve on the Council of Pharmacy Registrars of Canada, the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities, and the Canadian Council for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs.

In 2007, Mr Joubert was the recipient of the Pillar of Pharmacy Award from the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy and was also selected by the Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA) as one of 100 Centennial Pharmacists as part of CPhA’s celebration of its first 100 years.

Mr Joubert received his bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy.

NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its state member boards and jurisdictions for the purpose of protecting the public health.