Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

Michael A. Burleson, RPh, immediate past president of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®), assumed the office of chairperson of the Association’s 2013-2014 Executive Committee during the Final Business Session of the NABP 109th Annual Meeting, held May 18-21, 2013, in St Louis, MO. Mr Burleson served one-year terms as the Association’s president, president-elect, and treasurer, and two years as an Executive Committee member representing District 3.

During his presidency, Mr Burleson focused on continuing outreach to members to help ensure that each board is connected with the appropriate NABP resources to address their unique needs and challenges. Mr Burleson also focused on efforts to educate stakeholders and decision makers in pharmacy regulation about NABP’s mission and activities. In addition, Mr Burleson also continued support of existing NABP programs and services, in particular newer efforts such as the NABP PMP InterConnect®, CPE Monitor®, and the AWARxE®Consumer Protection Program, as well as NABP’s collaboration on the Center for Pharmacy Practice Accreditation.

For his service, NABP bestowed its President’s Award upon Mr Burleson during the Annual Awards Dinner at the Annual Meeting.

Mr Burleson has served as the executive director of the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy since 2004, and his pharmacy career includes both community pharmacy and hospital pharmacy practice. He was the director of pharmacy at Muhlenberg Community Hospital Pharmacy prior to co-owning three community pharmacies. He has also been a pharmacy manager for Walgreens.

An active member of NABP, Mr Burleson has served on several Association committees, including the Teller Committee for the 2007 NABP Annual Meeting. He also served as chair of the 2007-2008 NABP Committee on Law Enforcement/Legislation, and he was chair of the Committee on Resolutions for the 2006 NABP Annual Meeting.

Mr Burleson has also been actively involved with local and national pharmacy associations. A member of the Kentucky Pharmacists Association since 1974, he served two terms as a board member, and also served on various committees. He was also a member of the Tri-County Pharmacists Association and is currently a member of the Kentucky Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the Bluegrass Pharmacists Association, the American Pharmacists Association, and the National Association of Drug Diversion Investigators.

In recognition of his contributions benefitting the practice of pharmacy, Mr Burleson was honored as the Bluegrass Pharmacist of the year in 2010 by the Bluegrass Pharmacists Association. He also received a Bowl of Hygeia award in 1991.

Mr Burleson is very active in pharmacy education and local community service, including projects promoting public health. He has been a guest lecturer to college nursing classes, and supervised an externship rotation for the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy. He has also delivered numerous presentations to local and state pharmacy associations concerning continuing education programs on pharmacy law. He has also presented to senior citizen groups, educating them on proper use and avoiding misuse of medications.

Mr Burleson earned his bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy. In 1995, he received the Outstanding Alumnus University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy award.

NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its member boards and jurisdictions in developing, implementing, and enforcing uniform standards for the purpose of protecting the public health.