Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

Mark D. Johnston, RPh, was re-elected to serve a second three-year member term, representing District 7, on the Executive Committee of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®) during the Association’s 111th Annual Meeting, May 16-19, 2015, in New Orleans, LA.

Mr Johnston has served as the executive director of the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy since 2007, and since 2011 has also taught as an instructor of pharmacy law at Idaho State University. He began his career as a community pharmacist at American Stores Company in the Reno-Sparks, NV area, and became pharmacy manager for the chain in 1995. From 2000 to 2007, Mr Johnston held the position of pharmacy district manager for Albertsons/SUPERVALU pharmacies headquartered in Boise, ID.

Mr Johnston has been an active leader in pharmacy professional organizations and has served as president and a board member of the Idaho State Pharmacy Association. He is also a member of the American Society for Pharmacy Law, American Pharmacists Association, Idaho Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and Capitol Pharmacy Association.

Mr Johnston is Idaho’s 2013 recipient of the Bowl of Hygeia Award. In addition, he was honored with the McKesson Leadership Award in 2007, and in the same year, the National Community Pharmacists Association honored him with a Pharmacy Leadership Award.

Mr Johnston earned his bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from Virginia Commonwealth University, Medical College of Virginia.

NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its member boards for the purpose of protecting the public health.