Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

Malcolm J. Broussard, RPh, immediate past president of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®), assumed the office of chairperson of the Association’s 2012-2013 Executive Committee during the Final Business Session of the NABP 108th Annual Meeting, held May 19-22, 2012, in Philadelphia, PA. Mr Broussard served one-year terms as the Association’s president, president-elect, and treasurer, and three years as an Executive Committee member representing District 6.

During his presidency, Mr Broussard focused on ensuring the successful development and implementation of newly initiated programs, including the NABP PMP InterConnectSM, the CPE Monitor™ service, and the Pharmacist Assessment for Remediation EvaluationSM, known as PARESM. Also, under Mr Broussard’s guidance, the Association worked on improving existing services and programs, including internal developments on test form assembly procedures, to better meet the needs of member boards.

Mr Broussard also further developed the Association’s relationship with international pharmacy regulators through his leadership and participation in the Fédération Internationale Pharmaceutique. For his service, NABP bestowed its President’s Award upon Mr Broussard during the Annual Awards Dinner at the Annual Meeting.

The executive director of the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy since 1999, Mr Broussard is responsible for the Board’s compliance with federal and state legislative and regulatory mandates. He also directed the research, development, and implementation of the state’s prescription drug monitoring program. Prior to joining the Board, Mr Broussard served as a staff pharmacist in both the hospital and retail settings.

An active member of NABP as well as state and national pharmacy associations, Mr Broussard served for four years on the NABP Nominating Committee. He has also served on the Association’s Committee on Resolutions and as chair of the Committee on Law Enforcement/Legislation.

He has also been active with other pharmacy organizations, serving as a member of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education’s Continuing Pharmacy Education Commission. He has also been a member of the House of Delegates of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and served on the ASHP Council on Legal and Public Affairs. In addition, he has been an active member of the Louisiana Society of Health-System Pharmacists (LSHP) and the Louisiana Pharmacists Association (LPA), having served both organizations as a member of the board of directors and as president. Mr Broussard has received numerous awards, including the Outstanding Service Award (1994) and the Award for Sustained Leadership (2001) from LSHP, and the Clinical Pharmacy Award (1992) from LPA. LPA also twice awarded him the Pharmacist of the Year Award, in 1985 and 2006.

Among his other activities, Mr Broussard has been a member of the American Pharmacists Association and the American Society for Pharmacy Law.

Through Mr Broussard’s leadership and support, NABP has successfully developed and implemented several new services and programs that will support the boards of pharmacy as they perform the vital work of regulating pharmacy practice and protecting the public health.

Mr Broussard earned his bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from Xavier University of Louisiana, College of Pharmacy.

NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its member boards and jurisdictions in developing, implementing, and enforcing uniform standards for the purpose of protecting the public health.