Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

John A. Foust, PharmD, DPh, was elected to serve a three-year member term, representing District 6, on the Executive Committee of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy®(NABP®) during the Association’s 111th Annual Meeting, May 16-19, 2015, in New Orleans, LA.

Dr Foust has served as executive director of the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy since 2009 and has served on several rules-writing committees for the Board. Prior to becoming executive director of the Board, Dr Foust practiced pharmacy for over 30 years, and was the director of pharmacy at multiple hospitals and medical facilities. He was also an independent consulting pharmacist and pharmacy technology consultant for several medical facilities. In addition, Dr Foust served as a compliance officer/investigator for the Board from 1998 to 1999.

An active member of NABP, Dr Foust served as the chair of the NABP Task Force on Prescription Drug Abuse. In 2012, under his leadership, the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy received NABP’s Fred T. Mahaffey Award for contributions to the protection of the public health and welfare. Specifically, the Board collaborated with other organizations to produce “The Road to Nowhere,” a video depicting one young person’s experience with prescription drug abuse. The video was presented to public school students, grades five through 10, and DVDs of the video were made available to every state board of pharmacy.

Contributing his expertise to several other pharmacy-related issues in Oklahoma, Dr Foust has served as an adjunct assistant professor of pharmacy at both the University of Oklahoma and Southwestern Oklahoma State University. He continues to serve as a pharmacy law lecturer. In addition, Dr Foust is actively involved with his community and has served in leadership roles for the Boy Scouts of America for many years.

Dr Foust is also an active member of several pharmacy professional organizations, including the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and the Oklahoma Pharmacists Association. Dr Foust received the Bowl of Hygeia Award for the state of Oklahoma in 2012 and was also selected “Pharmacist of the Year” by the Oklahoma Society of Health-System Pharmacists in 2014.

Mr Foust earned his doctor of pharmacy degree from the University of Oklahoma and his bachelor of science degree from Southwestern Oklahoma State University.

NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its member boards and jurisdictions for the purpose of protecting the public health.