Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

Jeanne D. Waggener, RPh, DPh, was elected to serve as the 2016-2017 president-elect of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®) during the Association’s 112th Annual Meeting, May 14-17, 2016, in San Diego, CA. Prior to the election, Ms Waggener served a one-year term as the NABP treasurer. She also served a three-year term as an Executive Committee member representing District 6.

Ms Waggener is the president of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy and has served on the Board since 2006. Currently, Ms Waggener is a Pharmacy Clinical Services Manager for Wal-Mart Health and Wellness. Ms Waggener began her career as a staff pharmacist in a community pharmacy, and she has worked in the community pharmacy environment, both as a pharmacy manager and assistant manager, for over 40 years.

An active member of NABP, Ms Waggener has participated in several task forces and committees, including serving as Executive Committee liaison for the Task Force on Sponsorship of NABP District and Annual Meetings and the Task Force on Prescription Drug Abuse. Ms Waggener also served as chair of the Task Force on Internet Pharmacy Practice and was a member of the Task Force to Review and Recommend Revisions to the Controlled Substances Act. In addition, Ms Waggener has served on the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws. Further, Ms Waggener represented NABP at an Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education meeting on advancing quality pharmacy education. She also served as a panelist for the Tri-Regulator Symposiums, held in 2012 and 2015, to discuss the challenges facing state pharmacy, nursing, and medical boards.

Among her other activities, Ms Waggener served on the Texas Medicaid Drug Utilization Review Board until January 2016 and had been a member since 2005. She is also a member of the Texas Pharmacy Association and the American Pharmacists Association.

An active leader in pharmacy education, Ms Waggener has served as a preceptor for over 10 years. Currently, she serves as a member of the Advisory Council for the pharmacy technician program at Texas State Technical College, where she previously served a one-year term as chair. In addition, Ms Waggener is an active leader in science and engineering fairs in Texas. At present, she serves as Fair Director, a member of the Institutional Review Board, and Executive Committee member for the Central Texas Science and Engineering Fair, Inc. She is also the regional fair representative for the ExxonMobil Texas Science and Engineering Fair. Previously, she served as chair of the Advisory Council of the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair.

Ms Waggener earned her bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Texas at Austin and received an honorary doctor of pharmacy license from the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy.

NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its member boards and jurisdictions for the purpose of protecting the public health.