Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

Gay Dodson, RPh, DPh, was elected to serve a one-year member term, representing District 6, on the Executive Committee of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®) during the Association’s 113th Annual Meeting, May 20-23, 2017, in Orlando, FL.

Ms Dodson is executive director of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy, a position she has held since 1997. Since 1982, Ms Dodson has held various positions with the Board, including senior compliance officer and director of compliance. She practiced pharmacy for 13 years and began her career as a pharmacist at Garland Pharmacy.

Ms Dodson previously served a nine-month term on the 2016-2017 Executive Committee, representing District 6. As an active member of NABP, Ms Dodson has served on many of the Association’s task forces and committees, including the Committee on Law Enforcement/Legislation and the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws, where she served as chair. She also served as chair on several task forces, including the Miscellaneous Topics Subgroup of the Task Force to Review and Recommend Revisions to the Controlled Substances Act and the Task Force on Prescription Monitoring Program Standards. In 2014, Ms Dodson was named NABP’s Honorary President, and in 2007, she received the Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award from NABP.

In addition, Ms Dodson is an active member of several other pharmacy organizations. In 2016, she was named Pharmacist of the Year by the Texas Pharmacy Association and received the Legend of Pharmacy Award from the University of Texas College of Pharmacy. Ms Dodson also received a Distinguished Service Award from both the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists in 2010 and the Texas Pharmacy Association in 2006.

Ms Dodson earned her bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy and received an honorary doctor of pharmacy license from the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy.

NABP is the independent, international, and impartial Association that assists its state member boards and jurisdictions for the purpose of protecting the public health.