Media Contact

Larissa Doucette

The administrator of Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) has issued a final order to temporarily schedule 10 synthetic cathinones into Schedule I of the Controlled Substances Act effective as of March 7, 2014. The 10 substances are:

  • 4-methyl-N-ethylcathinone (“4-MEC”);
  • 4-methyl-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (“4-MePPP”);
  • alpha-pyrrolidinopentiophenone (“α-PVP”);
  • 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(methylamino)butan-1-one (“butylone”);
  • 2-(methylamino)-1-phenylpentan-1-one (“pentedrone”);
  • 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(methylamino)pentan-1-one (“pentylone”);
  • 4-fluoro-N-methylcathinone (“4-FMC”);
  • 3-fluoro-N-methylcathinone (“3-FMC”);
  • 1-(naphthalen-2-yl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)pentan-1-one (“naphyrone”); and
  • alpha-pyrrolidinobutiophenone (“α-PBP”)

DEA has determined that scheduling of these chemicals is necessary to avoid an imminent hazard to the public safety. “As a result of this order, the regulatory controls and administrative, civil and criminal sanctions applicable to schedule I controlled substances will be imposed on persons who handle (manufacture, distribute, import, export, engage in research, conduct instructional activities, and possess), or propose to handle these synthetic cathinones.” The final order was published in the March 7, 2014 Federal Register.