100th Annual Meeting and Centennial Celebration Attracts Record Attendance

May 18, 2004

Topics: Uncategorized

The National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®) welcomed a record 609 attendees and guests representing state boards of pharmacy, industry, and government officials to its historic 100th Annual Meeting and Centennial Celebration. The meeting, with the theme “NABP 100 Years: Building a Regulatory Foundation for Patient Safety,” was held April 24-27, 2004, at The Fairmont Chicago in Chicago, IL.

Featured Speakers

Notable speakers at the meeting included Keynote Speaker Donna Shalala, former secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and president of the University of Miami; Featured Speakers Fred T. Mahaffey, NABP executive director emeritus, and L. Daniel Jorndt, former chairman and chief executive officer of Walgreen Co; and Rudolph Giuliani, former mayor of New York City. Dr Shalala’s address focused on the political aspects of being HHS secretary as well as drug importation legislation. She noted that importation legislation was proposed during her tenure as secretary of HHS, but the department opposed the idea, as it does now, because it cannot guarantee the safety of imported drugs. Mahaffey spoke about how NABP has changed since he was executive director (1962-1987). He noted that the relationship between NABP and the boards has grown as well as the number of programs and services the Association offers its members. Jorndt shared his view on the importance of pharmacist-patient relationships and explained methods he used in the chain pharmacy industry to instill the values needed to create a safe and error-free environment for patients. Finally, Giuliani related his experiences as mayor after the events on September 11, 2001, and his recent involvement in the illegal drug importation issue.

Business Sessions and Educational Highlights

The Annual Meeting also featured the Association’s annual business sessions. During these sessions, meeting attendees elected officers and members to the Executive Committee (EC) and discussed constitutional amendments and resolutions proposed by the districts and member boards. Members approved the amendments to NABP’s Constitution and Bylaws proposed by the EC. The amendments essentially change the composition of the Executive Committee from six to eight members with one originating from each district, describes candidate eligibility requirements, modifies candidate nomination procedures, eliminates the Nominating Committee, outlines that election of officers and members take place at Annual Meetings and nominations of members occur at District Meetings, and moves the section addressing the removal of officers. Resolutions discussed and voted on included illegal drug importation; continued cooperation between Canadian and United States pharmacy regulatory authorities; electronic transmission of prescriptions; organization and operation of boards of pharmacy; bar code imaging technology; medication identification; medication indication on the prescription; medication error reduction and continuous quality improvement programs; national patient safety goals; prohibited abbreviations; compounding; sterile products; Active member status of the California State Board of Pharmacy; and the prosecution of entities aiding and abetting in the illegal importation of prescription medication.

Participants were able to earn up to five hours of Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education-approved continuing education (CE) credit. Experts in the pharmacy industry presented CE programs including “Improving the Practice of Pharmacy for America’s Patients,” “Canadian Standards for the Investigation of Internet/Online Pharmacies,” “JNC VII Update on the Treatment of Hypertension,” “Drug Importation: A Public Policy Discussion,” and “Error Reporting Systems: New Directions.”

Presenters in the Educational Presentation, along with participants in the second annual Poster Session, drew large numbers of attendees. Presenters included Auto Med and Telepharmacy Solutions, Drug Enforcement Administration, Facts and Comparisons, Food and Drug Administration, Gold Standard Multimedia, INRange Management Systems, Institute for Safe Medication Practices, Mocorp, Omnicell, Optimum Technology, PDX-NHIN-RX.com, and ScriptPro. Poster Session participants included the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia; Food and Drug Administration; Massachusetts Board of Registration in Pharmacy, Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy; West Virginia Board of Pharmacy and West Virginia University School of Pharmacy; and the School of Pharmacy, Medical University of South Carolina. The Illinois State Board of Pharmacy hosted the Hospitality Suite, which offered meeting attendees a place to relax while viewing the Presentation Area and Poster Session.

Special Events

Sessions familiar to attendees of previous Annual Meetings were the Public Board Member Session and the New Member Seminar, with the first session providing a place for public and consumer members to meet and discuss topics of interest and the second acting as a forum for newly elected executive officers and/or representatives of the member state boards of pharmacy to gain a deeper understanding of the Association’s programs and services.

Other special events included the President’s Welcome Reception, sponsored by GlaxoSmithKline, at The Art Institute of Chicago honoring 2003-2004 NABP President Donna S. Wall, the NABP/USP Breakfast; a tour of Chicago’s sites including the historic Chicago Water Tower Pumping Station and the newly renovated John Hancock Observatory; and the Fun Run along Lake Michigan. The Association’s Annual Awards Dinner and Dance honored the efforts of NABP’s President Donna S. Wall, Honorary President John D. Taylor, and the award recipients. Elizabeth E. Hiner director of Pharmacy and Drug Programs for the Division of Federal-State Relations, Office of Regulatory Affairs, Food and Drug Administration, and Elaine Jones, compliance specialist with the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy, received NABP’s Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award. Also, NABP presented Ron Guse, registrar of The Manitoba Pharmaceutical Association (MPhA) and Lois Cantin, president of MPhA, with the Fred T. Mahaffey Award.